You are here

Dana Orban named WC Staff Member of the Year

Dana Orban named WC Staff Member of the Year.

Dana Orban was in tears before her name was even called as the 2015 Staff Member of the Year Friday night at the Weatherford College Employee Awards Dinner, and she was followed to the stage with a standing ovation.

Orban was selected from among eight of her peers for the annual honor which includes round-trip airfare for two to anywhere in the continental United States and $1,000 from the WC Foundation.

“I feel so honored to win the Staff Member of the Year for 2015,” Orban said. “I was completely shocked and wanted to hide because I don’t like attention. I plan on taking my son, Bobby, on a trip this summer. He has been such a little trooper walking with me through the cancer treatments this year.”

Dana Orban with her son Bobby, Social Sciences Chair, Dr. Scott Tarnowiecki, and Mathematics Chair, Shirley Brown.

Orban is one of several WC employees who have battled breast cancer over the past year. She is the Math and Social Science Secretary and was praised by both department chairs for her hard work and dedication to Weatherford College.

“She is dedicated to her job and the departments that she works for,” said Mathematics Chair Shirley Brown. “Dana is wonderful employee and an asset to the mathematics department.”

“Her daily enthusiasm and positive attitude are contagious and make working alongside her all the more enjoyable,” added Dr. Scott Tarnowieckyi, Social Sciences Chair. “Coupled with that is her dedication, exceptional work ethic, professionalism and caring about others. Words alone cannot express the quality person that she is. The Social Sciences Department is very lucky to have her looking out for us.”

Back to Top

Recognition was also given to employees who reached a five-year increment
in their WC employment:

Duane Durrett

40 Years: Duane Durrett

35 Years: Kathy Boswell & Andra Cantrell

25 yr Service Award -

25 Years: Rhonda Torres & Elli Broughton

20 yr Service Award - Grace Rothrock

20 Years: Grace Rothrock

15 Years: Lydia Osborne, Josh Sterling, Karen Long, and Jim Mellot.

Ten year awards

10 Years: Dr. Diann Ainsworth, Carolyn Boggs, Johnny Emmons, Anita Garcia,
Beverly Gibbs, Lori Gouge, Moe Headrick, Dr. Sarah Lock, Dr. Linda Robinson,
Steve Rothrock, Glen Schlee, Ken Smith, Soozy Stone, and John Wyatt.

Five year awards

5 Years: David Anderson, Brandie Bach, Karen Buerkle, Donna Cox, John Dougherty,
Vickie Haffener, Lare Houston, Cathy Johnson, Becky Lawson, Mike McCoy, Chris Nelson, Dr. Joyce Pages, Dr. Tola Plusnick, Dr. Scott Tarnowieckyi, Dr. Lisa Welch, Laura Wolfe, and James Wood.

Back to Top