You are here

WC Foundation recognizes Dr. Mike White with Hartnett Award

Dr. Mike White Hartnett Award 2018

The Weatherford College Foundation has awarded Dr. Mike White with its most prestigious honor, the Carlos Hartnett Award.

Named for WC’s first development officer, the award goes to an individual who encourages others to give from their abundance to benefit the college and its students.

White served as the Foundation’s president from 2006 to 2014, bringing with him leadership experience from two other similar foundations in his home state of Kansas. He led the WC Foundation through a restructuring process whereby community volunteers now lead the organization rather than college administrators. His leadership paid off, with more than $1 million in scholarships awarded during his years as president as well as the successful completion of a $2.4 million capital campaign.

 “Dr. Mike White is a fantastic leader and was a wonderful president for the Weatherford College Foundation,” said Bob Glenn, current Foundation president. “He guided us to a new era of the Foundation, and we’re happy to honor him with this award.”

Past recipients of the Carlos Hartnett Award include Jack Borden, Dr. Jim Boyd, Jean Bryan, Marjorie Kimbrough Dome, Dorothy Doss, Jerry Durant, Roy Eaton, Roy Grogan, I.B. Hand, Eddie Kidd, Mark Littleton and Joe Tison.

Originally established in 1978, the Weatherford College Foundation is dedicated to raising funds to benefit WC and its students. The organization gave more than $260,000 in WC scholarships in the 2017-18 academic year.