You are here

WC Board names Campus Library for Speaker Jim Wright

Members of the Weatherford College Board of Trustees voted to name the campus library the Speaker Jim Wright Library in honor
of the notable alumnus who passed away in May.
The board had previously discussed naming something on campus after the former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, who graduated from WC in 1941. But in light of Wright’s nationally-known accomplishments, the board and administration struggled to find the appropriate facility to carry his name.
Since his passing, the conversation began again and the idea of naming the library after Speaker Wright presented itself due to the central location of the library and the artifacts related to WC’s history housed in the building.
“Throughout his illustrious career, Speaker Wright always talked about Weatherford College and the impact the college had on his life,” said Brent Baker, Vice President of Institutional Advancement. “He was very proud of his roots at WC, and the College has always been extremely proud of what he accomplished in decades of public service.”
Board Chairman Frank Martin made a motion to name the library the Speaker Jim Wright Library with Board Vice Chairman Joel Watson making the second. The motion passed unanimously.
“Everyone knows what an impact he made on his country, his state and his hometown, back to the time he attended Weatherford College,” Martin said. "I was talking just the other day to a 90 year old gentleman who attended Weatherford College with Speaker Wright and he talked about what a fine guy Mr. Wright was back then too."
Martin asked the administration to plan a dedication ceremony in the fall.
   Justice of the Peace, Dusty Vinson swearing into office, Joel Watson, Elaine Carter and Dr. Trev Dixon.
During Thursday’s meeting, new member Elaine Carter and returning members Joel Watson and Dr. Trev Dixon were sworn into office by Justice of the Peace Dusty Vinson.
Carter, Watson and Dixon all ran unopposed in the May election. Carter is beginning her second stint as a trustee, having served from 2009 to 2013. Watson and Dixon were both elected in 2009 and are each entering a second consecutive six-year term.
A subsequent item to elect board officers resulted in Martin maintaining his post as Board Chairman, Watson being elected as Vice Chairman and Dr. Luke Haynes elected as Secretary. Officer terms are two years each.

In his President’s Report, Dr. Kevin Eaton:

  • Provided an enrollment update for the Summer I semester which includes an increase in contact hours by 2 percent and a decrease in student headcount of 91 compared with this time last year.
  • Recognized Dr. Allison Stamatis for being honored as the WC Faculty Member of the Year.
  • Recognized Tonya Edwards and all of her instructors in the Respiratory Care Program for receiving the Distinguished RRT Credentialing Success Award presented by the Commis-sion on Accreditation for Respiratory Care. 
  • Recognized Cindy Lavine and her Physical Therapy Assistant Program staff for receiving accreditation for a full five years, the maximum allowed for a new program. 
  • Recognized former Coyote Matt Walker for being selected by the Seattle Mariners in the 36th round of the Major League Baseball draft.   
  • Recognized everyone who volunteered to make the seventh annual Taste of Parker County a success.
  • Recognized the WC Rodeo Team for another great season. Four team members will advance to the College National Finals Rodeo next week in Casper, Wyoming – Aaron Macy, Casey Tew, Coledon Harmon and Seth Cooke.   
  • Recognized campus police officers Bill Cooper and John Waight for recovering items that had been taken from a display case in the Academic Building.
  • Announced employee resignations from Nursing Instructor and Department Chair Nita Parsons and Biology instructor Joe Flanagin.

In other business, the Board:

  • Approved a proposal from Johnson Controls, Inc. for facility maintenance services for a three-year period beginning Sept. 1, 2015.
  • Approved a testing fee of $90 for the Physical Therapist Assistant course PTHA 2435.
  • Discussed a report on the proposed 2015-16 budget. Additional discussion on the budget will take place at the Aug. 6 meeting along with subsequent public hearings on Aug. 18 at noon, Aug. 21 at 5 p.m. and Aug. 27 at noon.