You are here

WC Board approves 2018-19 Tuition Rates logo

The Weatherford College Board of Trustees approved new tuition and fee rates for the 2018-19 academic year in their regular meeting Thursday.

After holding tuition flat for four consecutive years, college administration and the Tuition and Fees Committee recommended an increase of approximately six percent across all tuition categories. In-district (Parker County) tuition will be $85 per semester credit hour, a $5-per-hour increase. Out-of-district Texas students will see an $8 per hour increase to $132. Wise County students will pay $104 per hour (up $6) and students at the Education Center at Granbury will pay $122 (a $7 increase). The board approved the new rates unanimously.

Dr. Andra Cantrell, executive vice president for financial and administrative affairs, said WC’s tuition rates will still be below the statewide average among community colleges.

The board also heard a presentation from Duane Durrett, dean of community relations, on the upcoming series celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Alkek Fine Arts Center. The series will include a performance by the Fort Worth Symphony Chamber Orchestra on April 21, a musical theatre production of  “Into the Woods” April 12-15, and several other wide-ranging fine arts events. For more information, go to

In his President’s Report, interim president Brent Baker recognized the following:

  • The WC Student Support Services program for again meeting their annual objectives in serving first-generation, low-income and disabled students.
  • Kay Landrum, executive director of student outreach programs and student success, for her recent award for 15 years of exemplary leadership of the WC TRiO programs.
  • The 2018 alumni award recipients: Mike Gilley, Alumnus of the Year; and Lynn Easley and Frederick Sanders, Distinguished Alumni Award honorees. The three winners will be recognized at the Alumni Awards Luncheon on April 13.
  • Basketball player Masha Vasilevko for her Conference Player of the Year award and Bob McKinley for his 12th Coach of the Year award.