You are here

Scott Tarnowieckyi named Faculty Member of the Year

Faculty member of the year photo

Scott Tarnowieckyi, a Weatherford College history and social sciences instructor, was announced as the 2019 Faculty Member of the Year during the recent WC commencement ceremony.

“Our recipient demonstrates leadership, promotes scholarship and champions students and fellow faculty members,” said Suzie Jary, last year’s award recipient, as she introduced Tarnowieckyi. “They have the capability to get the job done seamlessly and smoothly with respect and fun.”

Tarnowieckyi has 20 years’ experience teaching in higher education, 10 of these at WC. He founded the Interdisciplinary Academic Conference and organizes Faculty of the year awardthe Distinguished Kent Miller and Quinton Reeves Lecture Series held each semester.

“When one looks at the list of previous recipients, being in that group is quite the honor,” Tarnowieckyi said. “Thinking about my fellow faculty, many of whom were equally deserving of such recognition, being selected by them is quite humbling.

“While I like to think that my success at Weatherford College has been mine alone, I know that it is actually an expression of the great faculty, staff, and administrators who have helped me to be successful whether in the classroom or through other activities like the inaugural Interdisciplinary Academic Conference we held in the spring semester. It is also gratifying to know that the WC Foundation is so supportive of the faculty that they set aside a monetary award to demonstrate that support. I cannot thank them enough.”

The title of Faculty Member of the Year includes the Wanda Grant Award of Teaching Excellence and a $2,000 prize from the Weatherford College Foundation.