You are here

Runners brave brisk winds for Coyote Chase Race

Coyote Chase Race.

More than 450 runners and walkers of all ages braved the cold, northern wind Saturday morning for the 22nd annual Coyote Chase Race at Weatherford College.

Many of the participants were school age children from across the county vying for the title of School Challenge Champion. With 94 registered participants, Weatherford Christian School clinched their second win in a row.

Trinity Christian Academy, in their first year to participate, came in second with 43 participants. Austin Elementary came in third with 42 runners and walked away with the Most Spirited award.







First, second and third place medals, provided by First Financial Bank, were awarded for the
1-mile to runners up to age 12 and in the 5K for all age groups. Overall 5K trophies were also presented to Bryan Ruiz, the male overall champion (with a time of 17:19), female overall winner Sadie Tharp (20:42), female masters champion Amy McSwain (25:43) and Charles Carroll, the male masters winner (22:39).

Jerry Smith of First Financial Bank presents the awards to the top runners.

Brian Ruiz, Male overall champion Sadie Tharp, Female overall winner

Brian Ruiz, 17:19
(Male Overall champion)

Sadie Tharp, 20:42
(Female Overall Winner)

Charles Carroll, Male Masters winner.

Amy McSwain, 25:43
(Female Masters champion)

Charles Carroll, 22:39
(Male Masters champion)