You are here

Phi Chapter rakes in Awards at International Convention

Phi Theta Kappa.

Weatherford College’s Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society brought home a multitude of awards after the Society’s international convention, Nerd Nation, held in San Antonio this past April.

During the convention Jason Avelson and Rocco Davidson presented a workshop on and Dr. Molly Harris spoke during the Advisors Luncheon on her Phi Theta Kappa experience.

“Getting to present at an international convention as an undergraduate student is a fantastic opportunity to build my resume, and I strengthened both my public speaking and leadership skills in the process,” Davidson said.

When it came time to hand out awards, Phi Chapter members continuously found themselves in the spotlight.

Regional awards bequeathed to the chapter include: Texas Top Chapter (awarded to the top 20 chapters in the region), College Project Award of Merit, Honors in Action Award of Distinction (Theme 4: Exploring the Natural Environment) and the Congeniality Award as voted on by their peers.

“I’m excited for the recognition they received for their efforts,” said Chapter Advisor Dr. Molly Harris. “It’s the Congeniality Award that means the most to me because it is evidence of the character of our members at Weatherford College.”

At the regional level Dr. Trey Jansen was named to the Hall of Honor for Advisors, Jason Avelson was named to the Hall of Honor for Members, Dean Michael Endy was named to the Hall of Honor for Outstanding Administrators, Dr. Molly Harris was named Most Distinguished Advisor, Joe Nicikowski was awarded the Tejas Award (the top award given to those who are not affiliated with Phi Theta Kappa) and Barry Stout, Aaron West, Jason Avelson and Rocco Davidson were all placed in the District II Hall of Honor.

Rounding out the regional level of recognition, Phi Chapter was elected Texas Regional President. Jason Avelson was selected by the chapter to represent them in that position.

“I’m honored to have the opportunity to represent Phi Chapter and look forward to building upon the success of the chapter in recent years,” Avelson said.

On the international level, Phi Chapter was named a Five Star Chapter and was recognized as a Top 100 Chapter out of the nearly 1,300 chapters in the Society. Jason Avelson was named a CollegeFish FishFanatic. Aaron West and Rocco Davidson received the Distinguished Officer Team award, Jason Avelson was named a Distinguished Member, Dr. Trey Jansen received the Paragon Award for New Advisors; Dr. Molly Harris was named Distinguished Chapter Advisor and Dean Michael Endy was named a Distinguished College Administrator.

“I’m so incredibly proud of these students,” Harris said. “They work endless hours conducting academic research, learning about leadership and organizing service projects on campus and in the community. They’ve already set their goals for next year, and are eager to return from next year’s convention with more awards.”