You are here

Landrum named WC Staff Member of the Year

Kay Landrum photo

Kay Landrum, associate dean of student success, was announced as the 2019 Staff Member of the Year during Weatherford College’s annual Employee Awards Dinner on Dec. 19.

Dr. Deborah Cregger, WC’s director of Talent Search, introduced Landrum praising her integrity and commitment to her colleagues and students.

“She goes out of her way to give students her full attention and high-quality services,” Cregger said. “The little things she does for us speak volumes. Despite competing priorities, she makes time for us because she values us. It communicates that she takes her role as a leader seriously.”

Landrum accepted the award by recognizing the important role each staff member plays to the functionality of the college.

“I think everyone knows that there is no one single person at the institution who doesn’t work hard, who doesn’t give it their all,” she said. “So I want salute those people and say: You deserve this just as much as I.”

Landrum was selected from among eight nominees. The honor includes a $2,000 prize underwritten by a WC Foundation gift from Texas Health Neighborhood Care and Wellness in Willow Park.

Two new awards were also presented during the dinner recognizing one staff member and one instructor who have been at the college for less than five years but who have made a significant impact on the institution.

Kay Landrum and Shantee Siebuhr photo

Landrum presented the Staff Member on the Rise award to Shantee Siebuhr, WC’s Guided Pathways specialist.

“This person was described by the nominator as ‘a breath of fresh air to Weatherford College,’” Landrum said. “I would describe this person with an analogy that is apropos to Weatherford College, a “rodeo school”: This person came in here, grabbed the bull by the horns and held on for the ride. In the process this person has worked tirelessly to advance our initiatives and improve several long-standing campus groups.”

In addition to her role leading the college’s Guided Pathways initiative, Siebuhr is the face of the WC Welcome Center and sponsor of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

Nick Pugh - Faculty on the riseDr. Scott Tarnowieckyi, social sciences chair, recognized Nick Pugh as the Faculty Member on the Rise. Pugh began his teaching career at WC as an adjunct government instructor before taking on a full time position. Tarnowieckyi said Pugh effortlessly commands his classroom while making students feel comfortable to engage in discussion.

“He frequently goes to his classes 10 to 15 minutes early,” Tarnowieckyi said. “He does this not only because he likes talking with the students but he likes making himself more available to them and by just talking with the students he demonstrates he knows them and it’s OK to answer questions or ask a question, utter a thought, opinion, whatever. This approach clearly works as he frequently has students stopping by his office to talk.”

Pugh has presented multiple times during lecture series and conferences on campus, has served on multiple committees and is currently a member of the Faculty Senate.

Recipients of these new awards received a plaque and a check for $1,000.  

WC employees who received five-year increments in employment at the college were also recognized:

Myrlan Coleman photo
50 years – Myrlan Coleman 
began working at WC in 1968 creating advertisements for the college and teaching art part-time with the condition that she would earn her master’s degree. She completed her first master’s degree at Texas Women’s University in just a year and became a full-time faculty member in 1969 before going back to TWU for a second master’s and additional courses in art. Coleman is currently the Director of Visual Arts and recently hosted her 100th student art exhibition.
Jeanie Hobbs - 35 yrs
35 years – Jeanie Hobbs
30 years – Beth Taylor
20 yrs-WC employment
20 years – Lee Butler, Jim Carmichael, Gini Chesney, Sam Coody, Rayanne Hukill, Paula Roddy, Lisa Simons, Dr. William Smith, Tammi White
15 yrs employmt15 years – Christel Brenner, David Daniel, Katie Edwards, Adam Finley, Nisha Gilbert, Pauline Jones, Doyle Karg, Cheryl Livengood, Steve Malley, Rosa Villazana
10 years employmt10 years – Jared Abraham, Debra Alexander, Carla Bowen, Tracy Butler, Donna Cox, Mary Harm, Latonya Hines, Theresa Hutchison, Kim Hutton, Nina Maniotis, Dana Orban, Mason Owen, Donnie Purvis, Dr. Greg Trickett, Stacy Wilkins, Kathy Williams, Paul Williams,
Emily Yager
5 yrs employment5 years – Charity Bankhead, Thomas Blair, Aileen Hedgecoke, Dr. Deborah Jogie-Cregger, Kimberly Killey, Sandra Kurosky, Cindy Lavine, Jennifer Lopez, Jennifer Miller, Thomas Murphey, Debra Riley, Cheryl Rodriguez, Donna Shepherd, Faith Stiffler, Dr. Bishnu Twanabasu, Crystal Woerly

Toy donation 

Weatherford College employees donated toys to
benefit the Parker County Children’s Advocacy Center. 

Pictured are: Cheryl Bullock, CAC executive director,
and Dr. Tod Allen Farmer, WC president.