You are here

Derek Peterson named WC Staff Member of the Year

Derek Peterson was announced the 2016 Staff Member of the Year during Weatherford College’s annual Employee Awards Dinner held at The Springs on Dec. 15.

Peterson, a four-year employee of WC, is the Shipping, Inventory Control and Mail Manager. He said he is grateful and honored to have received this award.

“I was totally surprised with all the deserving nominees,” Peterson said. “I used to work at a job where I worked all week, plus weekends and holidays and always wanted something better and that’s exactly what I got here. Weatherford College has meant so much to me and my family. I love working with all the amazing people and especially those who have helped me along the way.”

Dana Orban, the 2015 recipient of the award introduced Peterson and added her own flair to his nomination letter which praised his work ethic and his happy disposition.

“This person is special to me,” Orban said. “He is a great friend. His wife is one of my angels. She was one of the first who was there to be a cheerleader for me when I was diagnosed with cancer. I was very blessed to train this person. I call this person my work son.”

Staff Member of the Year is determined by a vote of college employees and recognizes the staff member whose outstanding contributions to the college are considered above and beyond their regular job responsibilities and whose work exemplifies a high standard of excellence.

Peterson was selected from among eight nominees. The honor includes round-trip airfare for two to anywhere in the continental United States and $1,000 from the WC Foundation. Being from the north, Peterson plans to hold on to his plane tickets for use during Texas’ hot summer.

WC employees who reached five-year increments in employments at the college were also recognized:

25 Yr Award – Doug Jefferson

20 Yr Awards –  Susie Brooks, Ruby Lionberger

15 Year Awards –  Dr. Leon Abbott, Jeff Lightfoot, Trey McKinley, Joseph Nicikowski, Clementina Nuncio, Dr. Shannon Vails, Diana Wheeler

10 Yr Awards –  Angela Atkins, Dana Brewer, Jeff Dunn, Andrew Ha, Loretta Huddleston, Crystal Jennings, Dr. Matt Joiner, Jeffrey Kahlden, Scotty Teague, Diane Slocum, Scott Williams
5 yr awards
5 Yr Awards – Jolene Applegate, Barbara Baker-Morrison, Laura Carousel, Debra Daily, Stephenie Fields, Nikki Harless, Lavern Higbee, Joseph Lewis, Steven McCaslin, Shannon McNabb, William Seigler, Amanda Ward, Haylee Williams