You are here

Creative Writing Contest winners Announced

Creative writing contest winners image


The Weatherford College Humanities Department held a creative writing contest this semester and received more than 40 entries in the event’s inaugural year.

Winners by category are as follows: 

Short Fiction

  • First Place – Clint King
  • Second Place – Krista Cornelius
  • Third Place – Joshua Campbell
  • Honorable Mention – Finn MacCool


  • First Place – Cody Lawson
  • Second Place – David Russell
  • Third Place – Michael Brownlow

Creative Non-fiction

  • First Place – Clint King
  • Second Place – Joshua Campbell
  • Third Place – Diana Meador
  • Honorable Mention – Ashley Milligan

PlainsCapital Bank provided prizes for the winners. Also, the WC Humanities Department extends a special thanks to WC Board of Trustees member Sue Coody for her support of the contest.


Photo Caption:  Creative Writing short fiction and creative non-fiction winner Clint King with Jared Abraham, Chair of the WC Humanities Department.