You are here

Cindy Clifton named WC Staff Member of the Year

Cindy Clifton photo

Purchasing Specialist Cindy Clifton was announced as the 2018 Staff Member of the Year during Weatherford College’s annual Employee Awards Dinner held at The Springs on Dec. 13.

“When I figured out my name was about to be called, I was shocked because all of the nominees were so deserving of the award,” she said. “WC has been such a blessing to me. I had a feeling when I started here 20 years ago that this was going to be a great job, and I was right. I enjoy my work and the people I get to interact with. What a wonderful WC family we have.”

Cheryl Rodriguez, the 2017 recipient of the award introduced Clifton as the winner.

“It was a thrill for me to be able to pass along the honor to someone so deserving,” Rodriguez said.

Staff Member of the Year is determined by a vote of college employees and recognizes the staff member whose outstanding contributions to the college are considered above and beyond their regular job responsibilities and whose work exemplifies a high standard of excellence.

Clifton was selected from among eight nominees. The honor includes round-trip airfare for two to anywhere in the continental United States and $1,000. This year’s award was underwritten by a WC Foundation gift from Texas Health Neighborhood Care and Wellness in Willow Park.

“I have so many places on my bucket list that I would like to visit,” Clifton said. “It’s going to be fun planning the trip.”

WC employees who reached five-year increments in employments at the college were also recognized:

45 yrs - R Willingham 40 yrs - M St. Clair 35 yrs - Dr. Arleen Atkins 30 years - B Key
45 Years - Ralph Willingham
40 Years - Marilyn St. Clair
35 Years - Dr. Arleen Atkins
30 Years - Brenda Key
25 years - Brown & Wells 20 Years 15 years
25 Years - Shirley Brown & Tom Wells
20 Years - Cindy Clifton, Gwendolyn Crabtree,
Tonya Edwards, Maria Gallegos, Rob Laney,
Anna Nichols, Jackie O’Neal, Paul Stone
15 Years - Marcia Dechiara, Dr. Kevin Eaton,
Kay Landrum, Linda Privette, Dr. David Russell,
Christy Walker, Jo Ellen Welborn, Karen Wells
10 Years 5 year
10 years - Rebecca Byrd, Dr. John Flanagan, Valerie Hopkins, William Loggins, Greg Martin, Toni Martin, Julie Moeller, Missy Oujesky, Deedee Perkins, Tammy Peters, Dr. Allison Stamatis, Phyllis Tiffin, John Turntine, Mary Ziegler
5 Years - Neda Benitez, Daniel Callahan, Darrell Castillo, Dr. Lisa D’Amico,
Starla Edwards, Angela Ellis, Christine Endy, Christopher Flanagan, Mika
Foreman, Dr. Edna Garza Escobedo, Maxine Hanks, Gail Henard, Ginger Hinshaw, Carol Hooper, Tony Hurtt, Dr. Trey Jansen, Suzanne Jary, Lori Lum, Michael McGough, Deborah Muron, Terry Pilgrim, Johnny Saldivar, Valorie Starr, John Waight