You are here

Brooks, Taylor win back-to-back All-American awards

Bre Brooks - Lady Coyote Basketball, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, COFor the second straight year, Weatherford College basketball players Bre Brooks and Itiana Taylor have earned All-American honors from the National Junior College Athletic Association. Brooks has earned first team honors for the 2013-14 season, and Taylor is on the honorable mention list.

Brooks and Taylor join Erika Ferrell (2006 and 2007) as the only athletes in WC history to win back-to-back NJCAA All-American awards, and now Brooks is the only WC player to be named first team All-American in consecutive years.

Brooks, a sophomore guard from Tyler Lee, is a two-time Player of the Year honoree in the North Texas Junior College Athletic Conference (NTJCAC). She averaged 18.6 points per game and 7.0 assists.

Itiana Taylor - Lady Coyote Basketball 2014Taylor, a sophomore forward from Pflugerville, was one of three finalists for the Player of the Year Award given by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, Junior/Community College division. She led the NTJCAC in both scoring (21 points per game) and rebounds (13 per game).

The two standouts helped lead the Lady Coyotes to a 21-4 overall record and another conference title, the program’s third in a row. In 2012-13, the pair led WC to the NJCAA National Tournament.

Weatherford College
NJCAA Women's Basketball All-American

1976 Sarah Williams  First Team
1993 Brandee Lyn Rabe Second Team
1997 Andy Holubova First Team
1998 Olga Firsova Second Team
1999 Dainora Umbrasaite Third Team
2000 Kati Safaritova Second Team
2001 Mandy Davis Honorable Mention
2002 Zaneta Drungilaite First Team
2002 Nihan Anaz Honorable Mention
2004 Sandra Viksryte Honorable Mention
2005 Iwona Zagrobelna Honorable Mention
2006 Erika Ferrell Second Team
2007 Erika Ferrell First Team
2013 Bre Brooks First Team
2013 Itiana Taylor  Third Team
2014 Bre Brooks First Team
2014 Itiana Taylor  Honorable Mention