You are here

Associate of Arts in Teaching (A.A.T.)

The Associate of Arts in Teaching (A.A.T.) degree is a Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board approved collegiate degree program consisting of lower-division courses intended for transfer to baccalaureate programs that lead to initial Texas teacher certification. The Education Department has advising sheets that state courses required/preferred by area universities. The asterisk (*) below indicates where this course selection is important. Please contact Shannon Stoker (sstoker@wc.edu) for more information regarding this degree.

(63 semester hours required to graduate)

Course # Course Name Hours
First Semester (13 Hours Total)
ENGL 1301 Freshman College English 3
HIST 1301 U.S. History I 3
MATH 1314 College Algebra 3
EDUC 1301 Introduction to the Teaching Profession 3
KINE 1164 Concepts of Fitness 1
Course # Course Name Hours
Second Semester (16 Hours Total)
ENGL 1302 Freshman College English II 3
HIST 1302 U.S. History II 3
MATH 1350 Fundamentals of Mathematics I 3
BIO 1408 General BIology (non-majors) 4
EDUC 2301 Introduction to the Special Populations 3

Back to Top

Course # Course Name Hours
Third Semester (16 Hours Total)
ENGL 3 hours literature from 2322, 2323, 2327, 2328, 2332, or 2333 3
GOVT 2305 Federal Government 3
MATH 1351 Fundamentals of Mathematics II 3
Lab Science * 4 hours from PHYS 1404*, 1415; BIOL 1411, 1413, or 2401 4
Component Area * From SPCH 1311, 1315, 1321; or EDUC 1300 3
Course # Course Name Hours
Fourth Semester (16 Hours Total)
TECA 1303 Family, School, and Community 3
GOVT 2306 Texas Government 3
Lab Science * GEOL 1403*, PHYS 1417; BIOL 1411, 1413, or BIOL 2401 4
Fine Arts * MUSI 1306*, HUMA 1315*; ARTS 1301, 1303, 1304; DRAM 1310 or MUSI 1310 3
Social and Behavioral Sciences ECON 2301*, 2302; PSYS 2301, 2314, 2315; OR SOCI 1301 3

Special Note: Students must pass a background check in order to complete observation hours
for certain courses. Local districts will not allow a student to observe in their classrooms if a person has a criminal history. Additionally, the State Board for Educator Certification may also refuse to issue a certificate based on criminal history.                                                                                                                    

Back to Top

Rev: Oct 2019